What You Can Expect

Written by Steven Spear, Jr.

 

People that can strongly articulate their opinions have my highest respect. Whether or not I agree with them, being able to defend your stances with clear arguments supported by facts is a quality that I look for in my peers.

Personally, I cannot always articulate my opinions as well as I would like. I have a fair amount of knowledge on some issues, but I am often unsure of how to organize my opinions into persuasive arguments. This blog will help me to form my arguments, and I hope that it will do the same for you.  

As we begin our pursuit for knowledge, let me share what the end goal will be: We will become more aware; we will have a greater understanding of the issues that surround us; we will be able to engage in intelligent dialogue on a variety of topics; and we will be able to shape the conversation that produces the solutions.

Invisible Hand will publish two types of posts: standalone articles and series. Standalone articles are just that: articles that stand alone (will not have any direct sequels). A series will be a post that has two or more articles in them. Typically, a series will have at least four articles: an objective explanation of an issue, a liberal proposal, a conservative proposal, and a personal stance on the issue. Here are some examples of topical issues we will be discussing:

Education. American academic performance continually ranks below most other developed countries. Out of twenty-seven countries, the U.S. ranked 25th in Math, 17th in Science, and 14th in Reading in an international test taken in 2012.

Healthcare. The United States spends more on healthcare per capita than any other country, but many would agree that our healthcare system is sub-par. The Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) allowed everyone to be eligible for health insurance but does little to address the real problem: excessive spending.

Social Security. Payouts will exceed revenues within the next twenty years. Some proposed solutions are to raise the minimum retirement age, cut benefits, and increase taxes.

Each of these issues is incredibly complex, and we will do our best to explain them and connect you to other resources to help you to understand. When examining solutions, my team and I will look at them from an economic perspective. What does an “economic perspective” mean? This means that we will analyze the costs and benefits of proposed solutions to determine which solutions best address an issue.

In next week’s article,  “What is Economics?” we will get an understanding of what economic analyses looks like.

3 comments

  1. […] Read about how we will use economics in the previous article. […]

    Like

  2. tisispear · ·

    I agree, effective communication and healthy dialogue is the foundation for a better understanding.

    Silence is not golden, but the breeding ground for assumptions to take place and misunderstandings to occur.

    I look forward to sharing and supporting my position on future posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Steve Spear · ·

    Well said. I am interested in hearing more of what you have to say on these 3 topics that have or will touch all your readers at some point in life.

    Liked by 2 people

Please note: We reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic

